Dr. Jose Cazares, Class of 1985

2018 Texas Dentist of the Year recipient
October 3rd, 2018
TAGD Dentist of the Year Award

Dr. Jose “Joey” Cazares, center, winner of the Texas Dentist of the Year Award, pictured with fellow nominees. Photo: Jennifer Rich Day/Sweetleaf Photography.

The Texas Dentist of the Year award is the highest honor that a dentist can hope to receive from the Texas Academy of General Dentistry. Nominees are chosen from among Texas Dental Association societies and academy components throughout the state. For 2018, the honor goes to Dr. Jose “Joey” Cazares, a Class of 1985 alumnus. He accepted the award Sept. 21 during the academy’s Lone Star Dental Conference in Austin. Cazares, a fellow of the American College of Dentists and International College of Dentists, operates a group practice in South Texas. He is immediate past president of the Texas Dental Association and has twice been nominated for the TAGD award.

He stands in good company. A number of the 29 other dentists nominated for the award and for New Dentist of the Year also are alumni of Texas A&M College of Dentistry, including:

  • Dr. Katie James ’17;
  • Dr. Christabelle Alexander ’16,
  • Dr. Tyler Kirlin ’15;
  • Dr. Sarah Pitarra ’13;
  • Dr. Sarah Tovar ’12;
  • Dr. Natalee Trevino ’11;
  • Dr. Mark Martinsen ’10;
  • Dr. Partha Mukherji ’01;
  • Dr. Don Heye ’95;
  • Dr. Hugh Goldston ’83; and
  • Dr. Thomas Reed ’86.

— Jennifer Fuentes