Orthodontic alums win coveted award two years in a row

November 19th, 2014

Dr. Phillip Campbell

The Martin E. Dewey Memorial Award is the highest honor the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists can bestow upon one of its members, and alumni of the orthodontic program at Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry have now clenched this title two years in a row.

During the society’s annual meeting Oct. 23–26, department chair Dr. Phillip Campbell ’71, ’73, was recognized with the 2014 Martin Dewey Award. That presentation was followed by an announcement of the 2015 recipient: 1984 alumna Dr. Gayle Glenn.

Glenn, immediate past president of the American Association of Orthodontists, serves the national association on its board of trustees and practices orthodontics in Dallas alongside two pediatric dentists and an orthodontist, all of whom are TAMBCD alumni.

Campbell, the current Robert E. Gaylord Endowed Chair at TAMBCD, practiced clinical orthodontics for more than 30 years, working in Huntsville, Texas, and southern Alaska before returning to the dental school in 2005. He is a member of the college’s Hall of Fame and a distinguished alumnus of the dental school and orthodontics program.


Dr. Gayle Glenn

Glenn and Campbell were selected among a constituency that includes 1,250 members across Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Kansas. The award, established in 1953 in honor of Dewey, an early member of the 94-year-old society, is meant to recognize those who have helped to advance the orthodontics profession.


— Jennifer Fuentes