Ten students honored at inaugural award luncheon

May 1st, 2023

Students honored at the inaugural awards ceremony include (back, from left) Deesha Patel, Courtney Williams, Christian Diego Lepure, Laura Maroto Esteve, (front, from left) Cassie Malone, Carrie Bilbrey, Berenice Sanchez Lemus and Cameron Thomas Togrye. Not pictured are Revanth Chada and Joshua Crawford.

Texas A&M School of Dentistry celebrated the quality of its student body with the inaugural student awards ceremony April 26. Ten students, chosen from more than 60 faculty nominations, were recognized in four categories.

“All students are eligible for these awards – our dental hygiene students, our dental students and our graduate students,” said Dr. Ernestine Lacy, professor and associate dean of student affairs. “It’s exciting because it allows us to showcase and celebrate the students that we have. I feel we have the best students in the country, so this initiative has been embraced by all at the school – our dean, administrators, the faculty and staff, and the students.”

The winners are as follows:

Exceptional Student Award:

  • Laura Maroto Esteve, D3
  • Berenice Sanchez Lemus, DH2
  • Cameron Thomas Togrye, graduate student

Outstanding Professionalism Award:

  • Courtney Williams, D4
  • Cassie Malone, DH2
  • Revanth Chada, graduate student

Distinguished Research Award:

  • Carrie Bilbrey, DH2
  • Joshua Crawford, graduate student

Excellent Patient Care Award:

  • Deesha Patel, D4
  • Christian Diego Lepure, graduate student

Dean Lily T. García said she was proud of all the students and looks forward to them joining the profession.

“For those of you who don’t realize, they are among the top in the nation,” she said. “I’m exceptionally proud to be here.”

— Caleb Vierkant

You may also like
Seeing double