Caruth dental hygiene students earn honors during annual meeting

February 20th, 2015

Recognition was in store for several students during the Texas Dental Hygienists’ Association-Student American Dental Hygienists’ Association annual meeting.

Briana Bonney, first-year dental hygiene student

Briana Bonney, DH1

Approximately 32 students from the Caruth School of Dental Hygiene at Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry attended the Feb. 5-7 meeting in San Marcos, Texas.

Here’s a look at some of TAMBCD’s standout students and their respective honors:

  • Briana Bonney, first-year dental hygiene student, was elected student delegate to the state of Texas.
  • Dominique Salas-Garfias, first-year dental hygiene student, was awarded a TDHA/Texas Dental Placement Network Scholarship.
  • Dominique Salas-Garfias, first-year dental hygiene student

    Dominique Salas-Garfias, DH1

    A team of first- and second-year dental hygiene students competed in a “College Bowl National Board” preparation competition, winning first place. Team members included: second-year dental hygiene students Tammy Ngo, Cassidy Robinson, Rebekah Gutierrez, Jordin Fisch, Cassie Bellomy, Aide Diaz, Nhu Dang and Ashleigh Thomas, and first-year dental hygiene students Elaine Bryant and Carolyn Medina.

Second-year team members of Caruth's winning "College Bowl" National Board Preparation Competition team.

Second-year students of Caruth’s first-place “College Bowl National Board” preparation competition team.

— Jennifer Fuentes