Faculty members honored at annual retreat

January 17th, 2024

Left to right: Dr. Matthew Kesterke, Professor Maureen Brown, Dr. Hua Zhang, Dr. Poorya Jalali, Dr. Shaun Logan, Dr. Andrea Rothman, Dr. Hui Liang and Dr. Jayne Reuben. Not pictured are award winners Dr. Feng Tao and Professor Leah Spittle.

Texas A&M School of Dentistry kicked off the new semester with its annual faculty retreat, presenting awards across a variety of categories including research, teaching and service to the school and community.

“Looking ahead to 2024, it’s a new year and new beginnings,” said Professor Lisa Mallonee, associate dean for faculty affairs, interim associate dean for academic affairs and professor of dental hygiene. “I want us to continue to move forward in a positive direction, to strengthen the School of Dentistry and our commitment to excellence.”

Faculty members honored included:

  • Dr. Andrea Rothman, Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award
  • Dr. Hui Liang, Premier Performance Award
  • Professor Maureen Brown, Teaching Excellence Award
  • Dr. Feng Tao, Faculty Research Excellence Award
  • Dr. Hua Zhang, Basic Science Faculty Research Award
  • Dr. Poorya Jalali, Clinical Faculty Research Award
  • Dr. Jayne Reuben, Institutional Service Award
  • Dr. Shaun Logan, Professional Service Award
  • Dr. Matthew Kesterke, Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award, college level, academic year 2023-2024
  • Professor Leah Spittle, Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award, college level, academic year 2023-2024.

“I know so many amazing faculty here that deserve to be recognized, so I feel really fortunate to get this award,” said Liang, professor of diagnostic sciences. “It’s really meaningful for me. Receiving this award is a highlight of my teaching career.”

Logan, instructional associate professor in biomedical sciences, added she was humbled to receive her award. She said it was an amazing feeling to get recognized by those around her, many of whom helped her develop her skills as a teacher.

In addition to the awards ceremony, the day included team building exercises, discussions on how best to train future dentists and dental hygienists and preparations for the new semester.

“We had great attendance, and we hope to keep building every year,” said Dean Lily T. García. “The energy is so positive, and everyone here is ready to take us to the next level of excellence.”

— Caleb Vierkant